Plenary Speakers

Anja Karliczek

Federal German Minister for Education and Research

Benjamin Simmons

Founding head of the Green Growth Knowledge Partnership

Brendan Edgerton

Director, Circular Economy at World Business Council for Sustainable Development

Chris Fall

Director of the Department of Energy’s Office of Science, USA

Christine Lang

Co-Chair, IAC; CSO, BELANO Medical AG; Manager, MBCC Group

Dabo Guan

Professor for Climate Change Economics, Tsinghua University

Daniel Domínguez

Co-founder and Strategic Alliances Director, Allbiotech

Derk Loorbach

Director of DRIFT and Professor of Socio-economic Transitions at Erasmus University Rotterdam

Elspeth MacRae

Chief Innovation and Science Officer at Scion, New Zealand

Emily Chew

Global Head of Sustainability for Investment Management at Morgan Stanley

Emily LeProust

CEO, Co-founder and Director of Twist Bioscience

Frank Rijsberman

Director- General of the Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI)

Helena Vieira

Director General Maritime Policy, Ministry of Agriculture and Sea, Portugal

Hiroyuki Kojima

Chief Innovation Officer, Ajinomoto Co., Inc.

Ipshita Mandal-Johnson

Global Bio Fund

Ivar Virgin

Senior Researcher at the Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI), Sweden

Jeffrey D. Sachs

University Professor and Director of the Center for Sustainable Development at Columbia University

Joachim von Braun

Professor for Economic and Technological Change and a Director of the Center for Development Research (ZEF), University of Bonn

Julia Klöckner

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture

Julius Ecuru

Head, BioInnovate Africa Program, International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (icipe)

Kitipong Promwong

President, Office of National Higher Education Science Research and Innovation Policy Council, Thailand

Kolawole Adisa Olonade

Senior Lecturer in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Lagos, Nigeria

Leena Srivastava

Deputy Director General for Science of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), Austria

Louise O. Fresco

President of the Executive Board of Wageningen University & Research in The Netherlands

Lucia A. Reisch

Professor of Intercultural Consumer Research and Behavioural Public Policy, Copenhagen Business School

Marcus Remmers

Chief Technology Officer, Royal DSM

Mary Maxon

Associate Laboratory Director for Biosciences, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Pablo Nardone

Bioeconomy Advisor at the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Argentina

Paola Vega Castillo

Minister of Science, Technology and Telecommunications of Costa Rica

Qu Dongyu

Director-General of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Rachel Wynberg

Professor in the Department of Environmental and Geographical Science at the University of Cape Town, South Africa

Ray Dhirani

Head of Sustainable Finance, WWF-UK

Yin Li

Director-General of Bureau of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Workshop Chairs

Adrián Rodriguez

Chief of the Agricultural Development Unit of the UN Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN-ECLAC)

Anne Bogdanski

Natural Resources Officer at the Office of Climate Change, Biodiversity and Environment (OCB) of the FAO

Carl Pray

Distinguished Professor Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Department, State University of New Jersey

Christian Lutz

Managing Director Gesellschaft für Wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung (GWS) mbH in Osnabrück

Dorit Lehr

Secretariat, Provadis University and BioBall

Eduardo Trigo

Adviser for Bioeconomy Development at the Ministry of Agroindustry, Argentina

Elspeth MacRae

Chief Innovation and Science Officer at Scion, New Zealand

Florian Graichen

General Manager Forests to Biobased Products, Scion, New Zealand

Francis X. Johnson

Senior Research Fellow with Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI), Sweden

Hugo Chavarría

Specialist in Bioeconomy at the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA)

Ian O’Hara

Principal Research Fellow, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Ingar Janzik

Plant Scientist Forschungszentrum Jülich

Iris Lewandowski

Chair of “Biobased Resources in the Bioeconomy” at the University of Hohenheim

Ivar Virgin

Senior Researcher at the Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI), Sweden

Jan Börner

Professor for Economics of Sustainable Land Use and Bioeconomy at the University of Bonn, Germany

Jörn Viell

Chair for Process Systems Engineering, RWTH Aachen University

Karel Callens

Senior Advisor to the Chief Economist, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN

Marcelo Regunaga

Member of the Group of Producing Countries from the Southern Cone

Mary Maxon

Associate Laboratory Director for Biosciences, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Matthew Fielding

Deputy Director of the Swedish International Agriculture Network Initiative

Merja Penttilä

Research Professor at VTT, Finland

Morakot Tanticharoen

Senior Advisor to the President of the National Science and Technology Development Agency Thailand (NSTDA)

Natalia Rodriguez Muxica

Projects Director and Board Member of Allbiotech

Nicolas Domke Venegas

Master Student of Forestry Sciences at the University of Concepción

Nwadiuto Esiobu

Professor of Microbiology and Biotechnology at Florida Atlantic University

Peter Wehrheim

Head of Unit for the “Bioeconomy and Food System” at the European Commission

Regina Birner

Chair of Social and Institutional Change in Agricultural Development at the University of Hohenheim

Romina Paillao Bustos

Project Sub-Director, Allbiotech

Sabine Krieg

Research Coordinator, IBISBA (EU-Project)

Sandra Venghaus

Head of Research Group at Forschungszentrum Jülich

Sarah Hickingbottom

CEO, BioVale

Sascha Stark

Senior Researcher at the Center for Development Research, Bonn

Tatjana Schwabe-Marković

Cluster Industrial Biotechnology, CLIB

Thumrongrut Mungcharoen

National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), Thailand

Torfi Jóhannesson

Senior Adviser at the Nordic Council of Ministers

Uwe R. Fritsche

Scientific Director of IINAS

Vladimir Popov

Full Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Yoshiyuki Fujishima

Senior Analyst, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO), Japan