International Advisory Council
on Global Bioeconomy

The International Advisory Council on Global Bioeconomy (IACGB) was initially formed to support the Global Bioeconomy Summit 2015 and has been maintained and extended since. The IACGB is composed of about forty high-level policy experts and drivers of the bioeconomy in all hemispheres. IACGB members act in their personal capacity as experts and do not represent an official government or organizational position. The members combine a broad range of expertise and backgrounds and they are actively involved in different international bioeconomy-related policy and research fora. While currently being an informal mechanism, the IACGB has gained credibility and legitimacy as an expert think tank and are actively working to develop further in the coming years.

The IACGB is significantly involved in the development of the GBS2020 plenary agenda and workshop program to ensure its global spirit and its non-commercial nature. The IACGB plays a key role in providing strategic programming guidance for GBS2020 and in mobilizing speakers and participants. The IACGB develops and approves policy recommendations on how to promote the development of a sustainable bioeconomy globally. These recommendations have been summarized in the Communiqués of GBS2015, GBS2018 and GBS2020. Furthermore, IACGB members act as important multipliers and take the GBS messages and the policy recommendations to other global and international bioeconomy networks and policy fora.

The IACGB members appointed a small Steering Group to coordinate the IACGB work with a view to organizing the Global Bioeconomy Summit 2020. 

The Steering Group for GBS2020 is composed of the following 11 IACGB members:
Joachim von Braun, Julius Ecuru, Yoshiyuki Fujishima, Christine Lang, Yin Li, Elspeth MacRae, Mary Maxon, Murray MacLaughlin, Marcelo Regunaga, Morakot Tanticharoen and Peter Wehrheim.

Members of the International Advisory Council